Early Years Foundation Stage

At Robins Lane we the deliver the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum though an enquiry based learning challenge. This means that learning is connected through themes and topics, linked to rich quality texts and driven by a key question as a starting point for children to investigate. For example 'why is it always cold in winter?' would start a very exciting learning challenge with Christmas as the reflection focus.

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum has seven areas of learning and development. These are all related to each other; however they are divided into Prime and Specific Areas.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


In addition the EYFS curriculum places importance on the way in which children learn, this is referred to as the characteristics of learning:

  • Playing and Exploring: Finding out and exploring, playing with what they know and being willing to ‘have a go’.

  • Active Learning: Being involved and concentrating, keeping on trying and enjoying achieving what they set out to do.

  • Creating and Thinking Critically: Having their own ideas, making links and choosing ways to do things.

To find out more informaton about the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum, click on the following links:


EYFS Framework 2017


Files to Download

Contact the School

Robins Lane Primary School

Kinmel Street
Robins Lane
St Helens

Mr David Spruce

Main Contact:
Mrs Clare Roberts - School Business Manager

Tel: 01744 678503
Fax: 01744 678504